Raising Bilingual Kids & Little Global Citizens


Bilingual Countries: Countries With More Than One Official Language

Bilingual countries languages

Last Updated on May 7, 2024 by Bilingual Kidspot

Imagine a place where more than one language echoes through the streets, where signs boast two or more tongues, and where conversations effortlessly switch between different languages. This is what it is like in bilingual countries and countries with more than one official language.

Bilingual Countries, Countries With More Than One Official Language

With so many languages in the world, you would think that more people would be bilingual. Being bilingual has many advantages, and sometimes learning languages can be a huge task. But in some countries with more than one official language, it is second nature. Babies are born into bilingualism from birth, and they don’t know the difference.

Here is a list of the bilingual countries around the world:


Nestled in the heart of Europe, Switzerland is a mesmerizing blend of languages and cultures. The country boasts four official languages: German, French, Italian, and Romansh. Each language is predominantly spoken in different regions, creating a rich tapestry of linguistic diversity.

From the German-speaking streets of Zurich to the French-speaking charm of Geneva, and of course the Italian speaking mountain villages of Lugano, Switzerland offers a truly immersive bilingual experience.


In Canada, English and French are the official languages. While English is the predominant language across most of the country, the province of Quebec stands out as a bastion of French culture and language. With a vibrant French-speaking community and a strong commitment to bilingualism, Canada showcases the beauty of linguistic harmony.


Belgium has three official tongues: Dutch, French, and German. Dutch is spoken in the northern region of Flanders, while French dominates in the southern region of Wallonia. The capital, Brussels, is a bilingual city where both French and Dutch are official languages. This linguistic diversity is a testament to Belgium’s rich history and cultural heritage.

South Africa

South Africa has 11 official languages that reflect the country’s diverse cultural landscape. While English is the language of business and politics, languages such as Zulu, Xhosa, and Afrikaans hold significant cultural importance.


India’s is one of the most multilingual countries 22 officially recognized languages. While Hindi serves as the official language of the central government, each state is free to choose its own official language.


Luxembourg is a small European country with three official languages: Luxembourgish, French, and German. While Luxembourgish is the national language, French and German are used in official capacities.


Spain is another fascinating example of a bilingual country, with several co-official languages alongside Spanish (Castilian). These co-official languages are spoken in specific regions and have official status within their respective territories. The co-official languages of Spain are Catalan, Galician, Basque, and Occitan. While Spanish remains the primary language of communication in Spain, the co-official languages are actively promoted and protected by the regional governments.


Welsh (Cymraeg) is a co-official language in Wales along with English, and holds a special place in Welsh culture and identity. The country aims to promote and facilitate the use of Welsh in public life and ensure its equal treatment with English in the provision of services.

Northern Ireland

While Irish (Gaeilge) is the first official language of the Republic of Ireland, it also holds official status in Northern Ireland, alongside English. The use and promotion of Irish in Northern Ireland are supported by various initiatives, but English remains the dominant language in most aspects of public life.


Nigeria is perhaps the country with the most languages spoken. While English is the official language used for communication in government, media, and education, Nigeria is home to over 500 languages, making it one of the most linguistically diverse countries in the world. In addition to English, there are three major Nigerian languages that are widely spoken across the country, Hausa in the north, Yoruba in the southwest, Igbo in the southeast. These languages, along with many others, are often used in daily interactions and cultural contexts, alongside English. Nigeria also has many dying languages too.

Multilingual Countries around the World

Bilingual Countries, and countries with more than one official language give us a special look at how language, culture, and who we are all connect. When we learn about these different places, we start to see how amazing it is to have many languages and why it’s so important to keep them alive. Whether it’s the beautiful sound of French in Canada or the rhythmic way Zulu is spoken in South Africa, these countries show us that language is more than just words – it’s a way we all share our human stories.

Read Next:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.